FDA bans shock devices

Wednesday, March 4, 2020-This week Senators Maggie Hassan (D-NH) and Susan Collins (R-ME) introduced the Senate legislation, S.3369, while Representatives Brendan Boyle (D-PA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), John Katko (R-NY), Pete King (R-NY), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY) and Kathleen Rice (D-NY) introduced the House companion, H.R. 6045, the bills would create a standard occupational code for DSPs in the Bureau of Labor Statistics, making it easier to collect data on DSPs and to professionalize the industry.

Please share the We Act Wednesday message and action alert, linked below.


Help spread the message and take action. #WeActWednesday

LAST BUT NOT LEAST, for over 4 decades The Arc of the United States and The Arc of Massachusetts have been leading legal and broad advocacy to end the use of electric shock devices at the Judge Rottenberg Center, TODAY the FDA finalized the ban on such devices: https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-takes-rare-step-ban-electrical-stimulation-devices-self-injurious-or-aggressive-behavior

Updates provided by:

Nicole T. Jorwic, J.D.,
Senior Director, Public Policy at The Arc